Church of the Brethren
Virlina District
3402 Plantation Road, NE
Roanoke, Virginia  24012
(800) 847-5462
(540) 362-1816
Virlina District

Church of the Brethren
Continuing the Work of Jesus.  Peacefully. Simply. Together.
Continuing the Work of Jesus. Peacefully. Simply. Together.

2018 youth retreat information and forms



“Who do you say I am: What would it look like if Jesus came back today?”

(Mark 8:27-30, Matthew 16:13-16 and Luke 9:18-20)

Who:   All senior high youth in grades 9 - 12 (friends are welcome!)

What: Join us for this annual retreat led by the Bridgewater College Interdistrict Youth Cabinet. The IYC members are Jeremy Hardy, Michael Biddle, Jenna Walmer, Kasey Carns, Amelia Gunn and Chad Whitzel.

When: Saturday, February 3, 9:30 a.m. through Sunday, February 4, after lunch (1:00 p.m.)  Registration begins at 9:30 a.m.  Retreat begins at 10:00 a.m.

Where: Henry Fork Church of the Brethren (130 Doe Run Road, Rocky Mount, VA 24151)


Members of the IYC will lead participants in “ice-breakers” and three different sessions on this year’s theme.  Henry Fork is very involved in helping their community, which might leave time for service project opportunities.  There will be time for connecting with friends as well as getting to know others.  Come prepared to learn, explore, laugh, connect and study! 


Sleeping bag, pillow, personal items, suitable clothes for Sunday worship, a Bible, work clothes that can be worn outside & snack to share


The cost is $10.00 per participant.  Congregations sending youth should also send an adult advisor.  Complete the registration form for all participants!  


You have searched me, Lord and you know me. You know when I sit and when I rise; you perceive my thoughts from afar. You discern my going out and my lying down; you are familiar with all my ways. Before a word is on my tongue you, Lord, know it completely. You hem me in behind and before, and you lay your hand upon me. Such knowledge is too wonderful for me, too lofty for me to attain.

– Psalm 139:1-6

Join Jenna Stacy and two Camp Bethel Summer Staff for an overnight retreat filled with Bible Study, games, and good fellowship!

What: Jenna Stacy, Program Coordinator at Camp Bethel, and other Summer Staff lead the Virlina District Junior High in Bible Study; Worship; Group Games; 9-Square/GaGa/4-Square; Silly Songs; crafts; skits; Yummy Food and Lots of Snacks to Share!

Who: 6th, 7th, and 8th graders

When: Friday, March 2, 7:00 p.m. (Registration begins at 6:30 p.m.) through Saturday, March 3, 2:00pm

Where: Camp Bethel; 328 Bethel Road Fincastle VA 24090

Cost: ONLY $15 per person

Pack: A snack to share, sleeping bag, pillow, toiletries, Bible, pen, musical instrument, and clothes to be outside if weather permits.

How: You can register using THIS FORM OR you can register online at To pay for the retreat you can either 1) mail a check/MO (payable to Camp Bethel) ASAP to arrive before March 2 or you can bring a check/cash to turn in at registration on March 2.  Register by Monday, February 26! Friends are welcome!


Virlina Youth Bus Tour

National Youth Conference 2018

July 17-28, 2018


Travel Package Includes:

Motor Coach Transportation Provided by Sunshine Tours; 6 nights lodging in Comfort Inn, Ramada Inn, and Hampton Inn Hotels; 6 hot breakfasts; 1 Chuck Wagon Show and Dinner; and tours and entrances to Sky Deck, Chicago; CoB General Offices; Badlands; Wall Drug; Bear Country; Mount Rushmore; Crazy Horse; Custer State Park Loop; St. Louis Arch and tram to top; and snacks and drinks provided at rest stops. (In the event a hotel gets changed, a park is closed or other unforeseen circumstances, a refund or comparable tour option will be chosen by Trip Coordinator.)

Total Trip Fee: $900.00

Additional Expenses:

Individuals can expect additional expenses for:  8 lunches and 6 suppers during travel; optional post cards or souvenirs; NYC t-shirt.  This varies with meal choices and personal spending habits.

Extra Traveling Expenses: $200.00

Registration Information

A non-refundable deposit of $200.00 is due by March 1, 2018.

The remaining $700.00 is due along with fully completed registration form by June 30, 2018.

Please be aware that this fee and registration is for the Virlina Bus Tour only.  National Youth Conference is an additional $500.00 fee and a separate registration process.

Registration forms will be mailed to congregations soon.  Online registration will also be available!  Want a downloadable/printable flier?  Download it here.

Contact @VirlinaYouth on Facebook or Mary St.John, Trip Coordinator, for more details! or call 540-362-1816


2018 Virlina District Ministers and Spouses Retreat

Nourishing Community by Eating Together:

The Spirituality of Eating

February 23-24, 2018  |  WE Skelton 4-H Center

Leader: Grace Hackney


Nourishing Community by Eating Together: The Spirituality of Eating

All ministers and spouses of ministers are invited to attend!

.3 CEU available

“So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do everything for the glory of God.” 

I Corinthians 10:31


5:30    Registration and Gathering

6:30     Snack Supper

7:00     Evening Worship

7:30-8:30   SESSION 1:  Eating Together: What We Do as Christians; Sharing Stories and Finding Ourselves in God’s Story


8:00     Morning Prayer (optional)

8:30     Breakfast

9:30     SESSION 2: Food that LAUGHS: Local, Affordable, Uncomplicated, Good, Healthy, Seasonal

10:30   Preparing a Lunch that LAUGHS and Free Time

12:00   Table Time: Worshipping by Eating Together

1:30     SESSION 3: Eating as A Spiritual Discipline: Now What? 

2:30     Closing Reflection and Sending Forth

3:00     Departure

.3 CEU available

What to Bring

  • Plate, cup/mug, silverware for yourself
  • Overnight items (linens and towels are provided)
  • Snack item to share
  • Bible and note-taking materials (optional)


$150.00 for couple or double occupancy

$100.00 for single occupancy

$40.00 for commuter (meals, no lodging)

 “To live, we must daily break the body and shed the blood of Creation. When we do this knowingly, lovingly, skillfully, reverently, it is a sacrament. When we do it ignorantly, greedily, clumsily, destructively, it is a desecration. In such desecration, we condemn ourselves to spiritual and moral loneliness, and others to want.” 

- Wendell Berry, The Gift of Good Land

About Grace

Grace G. Hackney is ordained in The United Methodist Church and the Founder and Director of Life Around the Table ( Grace was deeply formed by the Church of the Brethren, the daughter of Enos and Edith Griffith. She and her husband, Tony, currently live on 12 acres of land in North Carolina, which they share with ducks, chickens, goats, and an array of wildlife. In her current work, Grace works directly with clergy, congregations, and communities to help them “nourish community by eating together.”

Directions to 4-H Center775 Hermitage Rd, Wirtz, VA 24184

From Rt. 220 South: take Rocky Mount exit for Rt. 40 East / Old Franklin Turnpike.

Go 3.6 miles and turn left onto 655 / Webster Road.  Stay right to stay on 655.

Go just over 3 miles and turn left at stop sign onto 834 / Brooks Mill Road.

Continue on 834 for 3.9 miles.  Turn right at stop sign onto 670 / Burnt Chimney Road.  Continue directions below.

From Rt. 220 North: turn on 697 / Wirtz Road

Go 5 miles to the stop sign.  At stop sign, turn left onto Rt. 122 N (Booker T. Washington Highway).  Go 1 mile to Burnt Chimney Road

Turn right onto 670 / Burnt Chimney Road. Follow Burnt Chimney Rd. for 6.7 miles to 668.

Turn right onto 668 / Lovely Valley Road.  Follow for 0.7 miles to the stop sign.

Turn right onto 944 / Crafts Ford Road. Follow for 1.6 miles to a sharp curve.  Turn left onto 669 / Hermitage Road. 

Follow Hermitage Rd. to the W.E. Skelton 4-H Center.

Reid Jones, Jr. Lodge will be second building on the right.